Position Statement

The pictures that I have captured and posted to date can easily be thought of as ‘just road signs’. Having studied these extensively, I began to think about the signs and their application in more depth with relation to my research plan. It led me to question the importance of the signs and more so which aspect of the sign had the greater importance. Specifically, is the sign or the content conveyed on the sign more important? When arriving at these questions my thought process included both symbolic interactionism, Freud’s sense of identity and discourse.

Initially, I thought about what life in the situations I had photographed may be like without the signs present. Would people interact with the environment differently? In my opinion, I believe they would most definitely so. There would not be anything to direct or control them. Introduce a sign and an element of control is brought into the equation. When studying the signs in depth I began to think about removing another element familiar in society, namely punishment or consequence. That is, if there was no consequence for disobeying the instruction would people be less likely to follow it? Again, in my opinion I could see that society would enter into a disfunctional state. People are inclined to not follow rules where no punishment exists (Jones et al. 2000).

What this review taught me was that whilst I have began to review the images I have captured in more depth, utilising my plan I require more data to progress further.

 

 

Leave a comment